SCBA 2003 STAR Award Winners

Radio Sportscaster of the Year

AOM: Steven Stone, WRHI-AM/WRHM-FM STAR: Joel Kay, WRIX-FM

Television Broadcast News-Spot News

AOM: "Rosemont Shooting," WCBD-TV, Kurt Hogan, Jimmy Dickson STAR: "The Death of a Sheriff," WYFF-TV, Brad Willis, Nigel Robertson, Beth Brotherton

Production-PSA

Television

AOM: "Miracles Are Waiting," WGGS-TV, Shane Willimon, WGGS Production Crew STAR: "Drive for Life," WYFF-TV, John Skardon, Benjie Newman, Jeff Durham

Radio (Small/Medium Market)

AOM: "Foundation for America," WRHI-AM, Manning Kimmel, Steven Stone STAR: "Jr. Workshop," WIGL-FM, Russ T. Fender

Radio Reporter of the Year

AOM: Bob Holmes, WMHK-FM STAR: Kelly Golden, WTMA-AM

Television Broadcast News-Feature/Franchise

AOM: "A Different Kind of Retirement," WLTX-TV, Lisa Sigell, Matt Hammond STAR: "God's Little Acre," WYFF-TV, John Hendon, Patrick Rockey, Lori Webster

Production-Promo

Television

AOM: "Hot Cars," WBTW-TV, Don Haglund, Tré Davis, Chuck Spruill

STAR: "Works Harder," WYFF-TV, Joanna Wells, Benjie Newman, Brian Byars

Radio (Small/Medium Market)

AOM: "4th Birthday Party," WZSN-FM, Rick Prusator, Steve Kelly

STAR: "Morning Show 911 Anniversary," WRHI-AM, Steven Stone

Radio (Large Market)

AOM: "There She Stands," WMHK-FM, Bruce Otto, Pete Bunch STAR: "Universoul Circus," WWWZ-FM, Reggie Crawford, Mitch Faulkner

Television Weathercaster of the Year

AOM: John Cessarich, WYFF-TV STAR: Brad Huffines, WSPA-TV

Television Broadcast News-Series

AOM: "Moving Mountains," WSPA-TV, Terri Gruca, Anthony Cox, Ken Elmore STAR: "Search and Rescue," WCSC-TV, Mandy Gaither, Carlos Lee

Television Reporter of the Year

AOM: Matthew Nordin, WSPA-TV STAR: Marlee Ginter, WSPA-TV

Radio Show of the Year

AOM: "Bill & Elise Good Morning Show," WMYB-FM, Bill Howard, Elise Angell STAR: "The B106 Morning Show," WTCB-FM, Brent Johnson, George Kearns

Television Local Programming

AOM: "Cooper River Bridge Run Live," WCSC-TV, Don Pratt, Jodi Mohrmann, Jim Demauro STAR: "Charleston's Mission," WCBD-TV, Meredith Land, Carl Mullins, Scott Fitzgerald

Television Anchor of the Year

AOM: Carol Goldsmith, WYFF-TV STAR: Michael Cogdill, WYFF-TV

Production-Commercial

Television AOM: "Anne's," WCBD-TV, Robert Wade II, Jack Tracy STAR: "Copper Penny," WCBD-TV, Kirk Gillon, Mark Bradley Radio (Small/Medium Market) AOM: "NHC Healthcare," WZSN-FM, Steve Kelly, Rick Prusator

STAR: "Wilson Chevy," WPUB-FM, Denise Brown, Chris Johnson

Radio (Large Market)

AOM: "In the Pits," WMYB-FM, Jack Murphy STAR: "Iron Mike Sings," WRNN-FM, Jack Murphy

Radio Personality of the Year

AOM: Radio Free Rocky D, WTMA-AM STAR: Brent Johnson, WTCB-FM

Television Personality of the Year

AOM: Geoff Hart, WYFF-TV STAR: John Cessarich, WYFF-TV

Richard M. Uray Service Project of the Year Radio

AOM: "Building A Bridge to Life Radiothon," WMYB-FM, Bill Howard

STAR: "B106.7 Radiothon," WTCB-FM, Brent Johnson, Jennifer Jensen

Television

AOM: "Truth Check," WYFF-TV, Brad Willis, Don Jackson, Lee Brown STAR: "Ready to Vote," WRLK-TV, Betsy Newman, Amy Shumaker, Tom Posey

Station of the Year

Radio AOM: WTCB-FM, Columbia STAR: WCRE-AM, Cheraw Television AOM: WSPA-TV, Greenville/Spartanburg STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia