## 2015 SCBA STAR Award Winners

SCBA's State Television And Radio (STAR) Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, August 8 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center in Columbia. SCBA presented two awards in most categories. The Award of Merit (AOM) went to stations taking second place in a category and the STAR Award went to those taking first. Congratulations to all of the stations below which were recognized at our prestigious STAR Awards Ceremony on the 9th! (PLEASE NOTE: To insure objectivity, judges are broadcast professionals from outside South Carolina. SCBA provides detailed criteria for judging each award category. Judges have complete discretion to determine whether a category includes award caliber material so an award may not be given in each category or a category may only have a winner and not a runner-up. Certain radio categories offer separate awards for medium/small and large markets. Those categories are indicated by "M/S" and "L.")

Production-Commercial    Medium/Small Market   STAR: WRHM-FM, Rock Hill     "Girl Talk" Comfort Systems Heating and Air     Matt Sy, Lyvia Sy, Chris Miller     AOM: WIBZ-FM, Sumter     Swamp Fox Armory – Swamp Fox With Walter     Derek Burress, Debbie Rogers     Large Market     STAR: WARQ-FM, Columbia     Flaming Grill Buffet     David Reed, Larry Farina     AOM: WWNQ-FM, Columbia     Little Pigs Buffet     Marty Hall, Kyndel Lee	STAR: WRHM-FM, Rock Hill  "Girl Talk" Comfort Systems Heating and Air Matt Sy, Lyvia Sy, Chris Miller AOM: WIBZ-FM, Sumter Swamp Fox Armory – Swamp Fox With Walter Derek Burress, Debbie Rogers Large Market STAR: WARQ-FM, Columbia Flaming Grill Buffet David Reed, Larry Farina AOM: WWNQ-FM, Columbia Little Pigs Buffet Marty Hall, Kyndel Lee  Production-Promo  Medium/Small Market STAR: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill The Great Easter Egg Classic  Doctor's Care "Busy Life" Jason Andrews, Jason Shideler, Lisa Hockenberry AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville ReWa Potty Protocol Chad Farmer, Bob Driggers, Jonni Dyer Chad Farmer, Bob Driggers, Jonni Dyer STAR: WBTW-TV, Myrtle Beach News 13 On The Go Greg Osborne, Rafael Rivera, Dan Klintworth
WRHI News Steven Stone Large Market STAR: WFMV-FM, Columbia He Worked Hard  Laura Hensley, Jim Hays Laura Hensley, Jim Hays	AOM: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill WRHI News Steven Stone Large Market STAR: WFMV-FM, Columbia  WIS News 10 Sunrise Laura Hensley, Jim Hays

Category	Radio	Television
Production-PSA	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WYFF 4, Greenville
	STAR: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill	Virtual Toy Drive
	Upper Palmetto YMCA	Joanna Wells, Benjie Newman
	McKenzie Nicholson, Allan Miller,	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	Steven Stone	Holiday Sunshine Fund
	Large Market	Kelly Hoffman, Benjie Newman
	STAR: WARQ-FM, Columbia	1.5, 1.5
	St Baldricks Foundation – Childhood Cancer	
	Research Fund	
	Koko, Larry Farina	
	AOM: WHZT-FM, Greenville	
	100 Days of Non-violence	
I	Anthony Louden	
Production-	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WYFF 4, Greenville
Multi-Spot Campaign	STAR: WRHM-FM, Rock Hill	John Knows Weather Questions
	KFC – Lester & Esther	Joanna Wells, Benjie Newman, Jeff Goodman
	Charlie Derek, Freddi Hammer, Tonya Gillen	AOM: WIS-TV, Columbia
	AOM: WIBZ-FM, Sumter	WIS News 10 Sunrise: Up To The Minute The
	Manning Feed Mill – Satisfied Patrons	Minute You're Up
	Campaign	Laura Hensley, Jim Hays
	, 0	Laura Herisley, Jilli Hays
	Dave Allan, Dave Baker, Lisa McCutcheon	
	Large Market	
	STAR: WTPT-FM, Greenville	
	Rob lanuario	
	Stan Fisher, Rob Ianuario	
	AOM: WTCB-FM, Columbia	
	British Bulldog Pub	
D !! O!	Mark Plemmons, Tom Jackson	N/A
Radio Show	STAR: WARQ-FM, Columbia	N/A
	Q & Croghan in the Morning	
	Brendan Croghan	
	AOM: WUBB-FM, Bluffton	
	Tim Leary and the Morning Showgram	
	Tim Leary, Karen Daiss	
Sportscaster of the Year	STAR: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
	Chris Miller	Todd Summers
	AOM: WYRD-AM, Greenville	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	Greg McKinney	Brad Fralick

Category	Radio	Television
Reporter of the Year	STAR: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
•	Andrew Kiel	Gordon Dill
	AOM: WJMZ-FM, Greenville	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	Rhonda Rawlings	Mandy Gaither
Weathercaster	N/A	STAR: WBTW-TV, Myrtle Beach
		Frank Johnson
		AOM: WLTX-TV, Columbia
		Jim Gandy
Personality of the Year	STAR: WYRD-FM, Greenville	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
	Russ Cassell (Posthumously)	Christy Henderson
	AOM: WARQ-FM, Columbia	AOM: WIS-TV, Columbia
	Brendan Croghan	Mary King
Anchor of the Year	N/A	STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia
		Len Kiese
		AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
		Michael Cogdill
News-Spot News	N/A	STAR: WLTX-TV, Columbia
		Missing Children Lexington
		Marybeth Jacoby, WLTX Staff
		AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
		Church Fire
		Stephanie Trotter, Aric Lavender, Richard Holt
News-Feature/	N/A	STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia
Franchise		Heart Transplant Reunion
		Meaghan Norman, Stephen Hooker
		AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
		Wiped Clean
		Diane Lee, Aaron Smeltzer, Kristy Charles
News-Series	N/A	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
		Waiting For Help
		Gordon Dill, Joel Eaves
		AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
		Shoeless Joe
		Beth Brotherton, Brad Fralick, Marc Dopher
News-Investigative Reporting	N/A	STAR: WYFF 4, Greenville
		Failure To Stop
		Gabrielle Komorowski, Michael Geer, Daniel Crowe
		AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
		Officer Involved Shootings
		Gordon Dill, Jason Parker

Category	Radio	Television
Local Programming	N/A	STAR: WYFF-TV, Greenville
		Chronicle: Main Street Carolina
		Lee Brown, Jennifer Mihalic, John Hendon
		AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
		Remembering D-Day
		Staff
Website	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WLTX-TV, Columbia
	STAR: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill	http://www.wltx.com
	http://WRHI.com	Tony Santaella, Staff
	Andrew Kiel, Chris Miller	AOM: WCSC-TV, Charleston
	Large Market	http://www.live5news.com
	STAR: WFMV-FM, Columbia	Patrick Phillips, Ray Rivera, Phillip Weiss
	http://www.columbiainspiration.com/	
	Jamal Bates, Tony Green	
Convergence Coverage	STAR: WLTR-FM, Columbia	STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia
	State House Week	Campus Shooting
	Russ McKinney	Jason Old, Bryan Queen, WIS-TV Staff
	AOM: WWNU-FM, Columbia	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	West Columbia Officer	Commitment 2014
	Marty Hall, Allen Wallace, Mike Allen	Bruce Barkley, Stephanie Towers, Carla Field
Richard M. Uray Service	STAR: WTCB-FM, Columbia	STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia
Project of the Year	Radiothon For Palmetto Health Children's	Families Helping Families
	Hospital	WIS Staff, Lyle Schulze, Palmetto Project
	Brent Johnson, Jennifer Jensen, Hal Volin	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	AOM: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill	Commitment 2014
	Toys For Happiness	Bruce Barkley, Anna Dobbins, Stephanie Towers
	WRHI Staff	
Station of the Year	STAR: WCKN-FM, Charleston	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
	AOM: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill	AOM: WLTX-TV, Columbia
	WTCB-FM, Columbia (Withdrawn)	