2014 SCBA STAR Award Winners

SCBA's State Television And Radio (STAR) Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, August 9 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center in Columbia. SCBA presented two awards in most categories. The Award of Merit (AOM) went to stations taking second place in a category and the STAR Award went to those taking first. Congratulations to all of the stations below which were recognized at our prestigious STAR Awards Ceremony on the 9th! (PLEASE NOTE: To insure objectivity, judges are broadcast professionals from outside South Carolina. SCBA provides detailed criteria for judging each award category. Judges have complete discretion to determine whether a category includes award caliber material so an award may not be given in each category or a category may only have a winner and not a runner-up. Certain radio categories offer separate awards for medium/small and large markets. Those categories are indicated by "M/S" and "L.")

Category	Radio	Television
Production-Commercial	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WLTX-TV, Columbia
	STAR: WRHI-AM, Rock Hill	Bulldog Battery Bank Robber
	ChristmasVille 2013	Barry Anderson, Bryan Richardson
	Chuck Boozer, McKenzie Nicholson,	AOM: WIS-TV, Columbia
	Steven Stone	Laugh and Leap
	AOM: WCRS-AM, Greenwood	Kirby Formyduvall, Hugh Jacobs,
	Smooch Commercial	Jennifer Epting
	Anne Eller	
	Large Market	
	STAR: WSPA-FM, Greenville	
	Family Dental Health "Appleseeds"	
	Stan Fisher, Johnny George, Kristen Owens	
	Smith	
	AOM: WTPT-FM, Greenville	
	Rob Ianuario – Wet Cop	
	Stan Fisher, Rob Ianuario	
Production-Promo	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia
	STAR: WRHI-AM, Rock Hill	WIS Investigates - Images
	Boo-Haha	Jim Hays, Patrick Stapleton
	Allan Miller, Chuck Boozer, Steven Stone	AOM: WBTW-TV, Myrtle Beach
	AOM: WRHI-AM, Rock Hill	Lion Fish Invasion
	Toys For Happiness – "It's A Wonderful Life"	Gregory Osborne
	Allan Miller, McKenzie Nicholson, Catherine	
	Madden	
	Large Market	
	STAR: WJMZ-HD3, Greenville	
	Backstreet	
	David Jackson, John Pallarino	
	AOM: WJMZ-HD3, Greenville	
	Chucktober	
	John Pallarino, David Jackson	

Category	Radio	Television
Production-PSA	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia
	STAR: WVSZ-FM, Rock Hill	Families Helping Families
	Don't Text and Drive (AAA Foundation)	Patrick Stapleton
	Allan Miller, Steven Stone, Amber Westgate	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	Large Market	Holiday Sunshine Fund/Traditions
	STAR: WWNQ-FM, Columbia	Joanna Wells, Benjie Newman
	Zac Brown-Kenny Chesney Don't Drink &	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
	Drive PSA	
	Marty Hall	
	AOM: WYRD-FM, Greenville	
	Radiothon PSA	
	Stan Fisher, Russ Cassell, Bob McLain	
Production-	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WLTX-TV, Columbia
Multi-Spot Campaign	STAR: WRHM-FM, Rock Hill	This is Home – Midlands of South Carolina
a.iii opot campaigii	Clinton Family Ford Dancing with the Cars	Laura Hensley
	Jim Clinton, Chuck Boozer, Freddi Hammer	AOM: WIS-TV, Columbia
	AOM: WIBZ-FM, Sumter	WIS News 10 Sunrise
	Mr. P's Car Wash Campaign	Patrick Stapleton
	Theresa Miller, Dave Allan, Dave Baker	i amen etapreten
	Large Market	
	STAR: WGCV-AM, Columbia	
	Power Positions	
	Stacey Scott, Tony Jamison	
	AOM: WYAV-FM, Myrtle Beach	
	Encounters UFO Experience: Alain Dement	
	Scott Mann, Mark Krom	
Radio Show	STAR: WJMZ-FM, Greenville	N/A
Tradic Circu	The Kelly Mac Show	1471
	Kelly Mac	
	AOM: WCRS-AM, Greenwood	
	Meet Me at the Diner	
	Anne Eller	
Sportscaster of the Year	STAR: WRHI-AM/FM, Rock Hill	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
operiodación en interioda	Chris Miller	Pete Yanity
		AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
		Brad Fralick
Reporter of the Year	STAR: WRHI-AM, Rock Hill	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
	Andrew Kiel	Drew Smith
	AOM: WVOC-FM, Columbia	AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
	David Waterman	Gordon Dill
		2

Category	Radio	Television
Weathercaster	N/A	STAR: WBTW-TV, Myrtle Beach
		Frank Johnson
		AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
		Christy Henderson
Personality of the Year	STAR: WHZT-FM, Greenville	STAR: WYFF 4, Greenville
	Tone Hollywood	John Cessarich
	AOM: WJMZ-FM, Greenville	AOM: WLTX-TV, Columbia
	Kelly Mac	Darci Strickland
Anchor of the Year	N/A	STAR: WYFF 4, Greenville
		Carol Goldsmith
		AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
		Michael Cogdill
News-Spot News	N/A	STAR: WYFF 4, Greenville
·		Murder in Pelzer
		WYFF 4 News Staff
		AOM: WIS-TV, Columbia
		Gabbiee Swainson Found
		WIS Staff
News-Feature/	N/A	STAR: WYFF 4, Greenville
Franchise		WYFF News 4 Investigates: Out-of-State Trash
		Gabrielle Komorowski, Albert Spear, Jennifer Mihalic
		AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
		Debt Collection Scam
		Diane Lee, Aaron Smeltzer
News-Series	N/A	STAR: WLTX-TV, Columbia
		DSS Investigations
		Clark Fouraker, Jennifer Bellamy, Staff
		AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
		The Obesity Crisis
		Carol Goldsmith, Albert Spear, John Hendon
Local Programming	N/A	STAR: WCIV-TV, Charleston
		WCIV Obesity Special
		Victoria Hansen, Dave MacQueen, Cathy Hobbs
		AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
		Upfront: Feast or Famine
		Elizabeth Sanders, Laura Thomas, Jason Parker

Category	Radio	Television
Website	Medium/Small Market	STAR: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
	STAR: WRHI-AM, Rock Hill	http://www.wspa.com
	http://WRHI.com	WSPA Staff
	Andrew Kiel, Chris Miller	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	Large Market	http://www.wyff4.com
	STAR: WFBC-FM, Greenville	Stephanie Towers, Carla Field, Bruce Barkley
	http://www.b937.com/	
	Tias Schuster	
	AOM: WSPA-FM, Greenville	
	http://www.magic989online.com/	
	WSPA Staff	
Convergence Coverage	STAR: WHZT-FM, Greenville	STAR: WMBF-TV, Myrtle Beach
	Haley Coker	Heather Elvis Coverage
	Anthony Wheeler, David Jackson, Anthony	WMBF News Staff
	Louden	AOM: WSPA-TV, Spartanburg
	AOM: WRHI-AM, Rock Hill	Hospital Prices: Online Database
	Northwestern State Championship	Gordon Dill, Aaron Smeltzer, Kevin Justus
	Chris Miller, Andrew Kiel, Robert Earl Carter	
Richard M. Uray Service	STAR: WJMZ-FM, Greenville	STAR: WLTX-TV, Columbia
Project of the Year	107 Days of Nonviolence	Stuff-A-Bus
	Pastor Johnson, Rhonda Rawlings	WLTX Staff
	AOM: WAVF-FM, Charleston	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville
	School Supply Drive With The Hootie & The	Domestic Violence
	Blowfish Foundation	Lee Brown, Jennifer Mihalic, John Hendon
	Katrina Harris, Bryan Taylor, Chris Saglian	
Station of the Year	STAR: WJMZ-FM, Greenville	STAR: WIS-TV, Columbia
	AOM: WRHI-AM, Rock Hill	AOM: WYFF 4, Greenville