Educational Foundation

SCBA Educational Foundation



The SCBA Educational Foundation, established in 1982, provides grants, scholarships and endowments for colleges, technical colleges and universities in the state that offer broadcast training. The Foundation established an endowment in 2004 with a one million dollar target and in 2008 reached that goal.  Now the scholarship program will continue in perpetuity.  The Foundation traditionally funds $50,000 in scholarships and grants each year to state broadcast education programs.

2020 SCBA Educational Foundation Board

2020 Educational Foundation Board Roster Table 9-18-2020

Request for Scholarships

Each year, the SCBA Educational Foundation accepts proposals for funding from colleges and universities in our state which offer broadcast or communications training. The Foundation accepts proposals for grants, endowments, or scholarships. Please note, funding is not provided for capital items, and scholarship requests receive the highest consideration. Funds are distributed on May 31st and August 31st each year.

Proposals must be submitted no later than August 31st.  Please email the completed proposal to PaulaThayer at

The SCBA Educational Foundation Board meets each Fall to review proposals, and schools approved for funding will be notified in writing no later than October 31st.

If you are interested in submitting a request for funding, please contact the SCBA office at (803) 732-1186 or

The following schools received scholarships for the 2020 school year:

  • Anderson University
  • Bob Jones University
  • Claflin College
  • Clemson University
  • Francis Marion University
  • Furman University
  • North Greenville University
  • SC State University
  • Tri-County Technical College
  • Trident Technical College
  • University of South Carolina
  • Winthrop University

USC Scholarships

South Carolina Broadcasters Educational Foundation Scholarship

REQUIREMENTS: Applicants must be undergraduate or graduate students majoring in broadcasting in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of South Carolina – Columbia.

JUDGING: Applicants will be selected on the basis of:

  • Academic Performance
  • Financial Need
  • Current Involvement in Collegiate and
  • Professional Broadcasting Activities
  • School and Community Involvement

There will be five scholarships awarded for the 2020/21 school year.

Applications are available via this link

Please contact the SCBA at 803-732-1186 or for additional information.


Fellows Program

To insure the continued growth of our Educational Foundation and to further broaden the educational programs it can support, SCBA has created a Fellows Program that allows individuals to make personal contributions to the Foundation. Fellows’ donations are structured as follows and may be a one-time contribution paid in full or may be spread in self-directed payments over a designated number of months or years:

  • Gold Level - $10,000
  • Silver Level - $5,000
  • Bronze Level - $1,000

Once each of the above levels is reached, the donor receives a framed medallion in the corresponding metal along with a Fellows certificate in a preservation folder.

All Fellows are recognized at both the STAR Awards and Winter Convention and new Fellows are presented with their framed award and certificate.

The Fellows Program of the SCBA Educational Program

One of the most important things we can do to assure the continued growth and vigor of our industry is to invest in the education of tomorrow’s broadcasters.  Join your colleagues and support South Carolina broadcast students with a tax-exempt gift to the Fellows program.

Gold Plus LevelOver $10,000
John George$13,600
Wally Mullinax$11,510
Gold Level - $10,000
Dave McAtee
Harold Miller
SC Army National Guard
Richard Uray*
Silver Plus LevelOver $5,000
Jim Keelor$9,500
Billy Huggins$8,500
Allan Miller$7,500
Manning Kimmel$6,500
Jim Sefert$6,500*
Mike Hayes$6,000
Jim Yager$5,500
Bronze Plus LevelOver $1,000
Dean Pearce$3,750
Jane Pigg$3,600
Margaret Wallace$2,800
John Cottingham$2,600
Rich O'Dell$2,500
Steve Sinicropi$2,250
Betty Roper$2,050*
Diane Bagwell$2,000
Jay Bender$2,000
Phil Lane$2,000
Joe Pinner$2,000
Gigi South$1,950
Chris Bailey$1,825
Lee Brown$1,750
Ron Loewen$1,500*
Shani White$1,500
Lee Brown$1,500
Bob Romine$1,500
Matt Sedota$1,400
Jim Bleicher$1,200
Mel Stebbins$1,200*
Dale Gilbert$1,200
Dave Aiken$1,100
Rigby Wilson$1,100
Bronze Level - $1,000
Susan Aude
Barry Brown
Norvin Duncan*
Monty Du Puy*
Guy Hempel
Ron Hill
Haney Howell
John Humphries
Jan Jeffcoat
Scott Johnson
Lou Kirchen
Dick Laughridge
George Lyons
Scott McBride
Bill McElveen
Moody McElveen*
Chris Miller
Mary Margaret Nelms
Rick Prusator/Kathy Ptasnik
Lyle Schulze
Doug Smith
T. Frank Smith, Jr.*
Alex Snipe
John Soapes
Libby Spencer
Suzanne Teagle
Donita Todd
Jack West*
Chris Woodson
Contributor level
Bill McMartin


How Can I Become a SCBA Fellow?

Simply complete the Donor Form indicating your chosen contribution level and preferred payment schedule. SEND NO MONEY NOW. Upon receipt of your completed form, the SCBA office will forward a confirmation letter along with an invoice for the appropriate amount. Donations are tax-deductible.

For more information, contact the SCBA office by phone at (803) 732-1186 or by email at